SFRBM, through its Senior Award Committee, annually confers a special title of Fellow of the Society for Redox Biology and Medicine (F-SFRBM) to members who have made outstanding contributions to the association as well as the field of free radical chemistry, redox biology and antioxidants.  Criteria for fellow status includes:

• Consistently publishing in the field relating to free radical and redox biology research (normally a minimum of 50 papers in field)

• Recognizable contribution to research in these fields.

• Recognizable contribution Society for Redox Biology and Medicine with emphasis on contributions to the society (leadership/committee service, regular meeting attendance, abstract presentations, Editorial Board of society journals)

• Remain a member in good standing

• Any past SFRBM Discovery or Lifetime Achievement winners

Please note self-nominations are not permitted but nominations can be submitted by any SFRBM member. Nominations should be sent to info@sfrbm.org no later than August 1 each year and should include a short statement as to the fellow candidate’s significant contribution to field and society as well as their CV. SFRBM will induct no more than three (3) new fellows per year

Current SFRBM Fellows

Julie Andersen, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Ohara Augusto, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Joseph Beckman, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Ralf Brandes, MD, F-SFRBM
Tammy Bray, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Garry Buettner, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Allan Butterfield, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Enrique Cadenas, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Victor Darley-Usmar, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Kelvin J.A. Davies, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Phyllis Dennery, MD, F-SFRBM
Frederick Domann, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Aron Fisher, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Robert Floyd, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Henry Forman, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Bruce Freeman, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Balz Frei, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Irwin Fridovich, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Albert Girotti, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Barry Halliwell, DSc, F-SFRBM
Kenneth Hensley, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Harry Ischiropoulos, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Balaraman Kalyanaraman, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Terrance Kavanagh, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Willem Koppenol, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
David Lambeth, MD, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Bill Lands, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Rodney Levine, MD, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Tsan-Zon Liu, Ph.D. FACB, F-SFRBM
Lawrence Marnett, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Ronald Mason, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Joe McCord, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Lester Packer, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
William Pryor, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Rafael Radi, MD, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
L. Jackson Roberts, MD, F-SFRBM
A.L. Tappel, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Maret Traber, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Christine Winterbourn, Ph.D., F-SFRBM
Gisela Witz, Ph.D., F-SFRBM

SFRBM members may log in to access member benefits including:

  • View and update your member/research directory profile
  • Access the SFRBM Research Forum
  • Access the Free Radical Biology and Medicine journal online
  • . . . and more